Student Accomplishments

Al Neuharth Free Spirit Journalism Conference:
Julia Howell was selected as the Kansas delegate to the Al Neuharth Free Spirit Journalism Conference this summer. One student is selected from each state to attend an all-expenses paid week in DC, where the kids tour USA Today, and hear speakers from places like the Washington Post, ESPN, and National Geographic. The Newseum is their classroom. The best part is, Julia is the second Topeka High student in a row to receive this honor. Adam Cole was the delegate last year.

National Center of Women and Information Technology Award:
Emma Hubka, of Topeka High School, was one of 15 female high school students recognized for accomplishments and aspiration in computing and technology. NCWIT honored each winner with a trophy and prize at an award ceremony in Kansas City.
The NCWIT Award for Aspirations in Computing was created to encourage young women to explore careers in technology by introducing them into leadership opportunities in the field. Winners were selected by their outstanding aptitude and interest in technology and computing, leadership, ability, academic ability, academic history and plans for post-secondary education.

Math Awards:
Emily Goodrow won 1st place at THS, 2nd place in the NE region for Trig Star and 7th place in the State of Kansas. This has earned her a $125 check, plaque, and a certificate. Roberto Riganti won 2nd place at THS and 3rd place in the NE region for Trig Star. He will be presented with $100 check and a certificate. William Starks won 3rd place at THS and 4th place in the NE region. He will receive a certificate.

National Scholastic Press Association academic and service requirements:
Keira Beatty, junior
Morgan Johnson, senior
Julia Howell, sophomore
Erin Mumford, junior
Shayna Myers, junior
Thomas Teeter, junior
Ashley Yoder, senior
The students listed are all part of the listing of all inductees (from across the country) into the Journalism Honor Roll, which will be published in the 2016 NSPA's Best of the High School Press.

Alexis Tibbits: Alexis another Bill Gates Millenium Scholar from THS! This scholarship covers her 100% for as long as she wants to go to school! This is just what she needed to complete her dream of becoming a doctor!

KSHSAA Large Ensemble Music Festival/Contest: The Robed Choir received a One Rating - Judges Scores were 80/80,80/80 and 78/80. As well as the Combined Women ( Choraliers, Chansonettes, Robed Choir Women) received a One Rating - Judges Scores 78/80. 76/80,/ 74/80.

Adam Cole: Adam, junior, was selected as the Kansas representative for the Al Neuharth Free Spirit and Journalism Conference to be held June 18-23 in Washington DC. Cole is the editor of the Topeka High World Newspaper and a contributor to the news website. To qualify for this award students must be a junior who will graduate in the Class of 2017, be committed to pursuing a career in journalism, and demonstrate qualities of being a "free spirit." A journalist exhibits qualities of a "free spirit" if he is a risk taker, visionary, an innovative leader or a courageous achiever. The 51 students selected for this honor (one from each state and Puerto Rico) will receive an all expense paid trip to Washington DC, a $1,000 college scholarship, and the opportunity to meet and learn from peers and leading media professionals. The event is a program of Newseum Institute in Washington DC.

Tessa Duncan: Tessa, a senior at Topeka High, placed first at the regional journalism competition in feature writing held at the University of Kansas on February 22. Qualified for state journalism contest.

Adam Cole: Adam, a junior at Topeka High, placed third at the regional journalism competition in yearbook sports writing held at the University of Kansas on February 22. Qualified for state journalism contest.

Danielle “Dani” Cottrell: Danielle a student at Topeka High School, has been named a winner of the National Center for Women and Information Technology award for Aspirations in Computing, Western Missouri and Kansas Affiliate. This award was created to encourage the computing aspirations of young women and introduce them to leadership opportunities in the field. Winners are acknowledged for their outstanding aptitude and interest in technology and computing, leadership ability, academic history, and plans for post-secondary education. Winners will be recognized in February at an award ceremony at Garmin International in Olathe. Congratulations to Dani!

Justice West-Matthews: Won the Star Among Stars award for volunteering through Stormont-Vail.

Hashaivione Edmundson: One of the six Gates Millennium Scholars in Kansas this year. This award allows Edmundson to attend any accredited college or university in the country, public or private. He has chosen to attend Wichita State University. This scholarship is the United Negro College Funds Flagship award, funded by the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation.

Brian Truesdell: Received the National Council of Teachers of English Achievement Award for writing. Out of 650 Juniors nominated for the award 141 were chosen. The winners, including Brian, were judged highly on how audiences are influenced by effective and imaginative use of words.

Skyler Dykes: Winner of the Co-Overall and the Voice Division of the 2014-2015 Youth Talent Auditions.

Madeline Pershall: Awarded $150,000 scholarship. Accepted into U.S. Naval Academy

Lucas Ryan: National Merit Scholar.

Teacher Accomplishments

Jennifer Antonetti: Is the recipient of the Outstanding Young Bandmaster Honor in the State of Kansas. This recognition is awarded to Band directors that have worked fewer than 10 years and have displayed exceptional success throughout their career.

Teresa Canty: KSNT’s Teacher of the Month for March 2015. She was nominated by 13 students. Capital City Nissan of Topeka sponsors the award. She was added to the list for the Teacher of the year award.

High School Government Teachers Phillip Wrigley and James Dewell: The league of Women Voters of Topeka/Shawnee County honored Phillip Wrigley and James Dewell. These two Government teachers were recognized for their efforts to inform and encourage students to be active participants in their government through their right to vote.

Steve Eubank: This summer five Topeka High School Choir members were selected to participate in the Kansas Choral Director’s All-State Women’s Chorus. They were selected from over 200 high school women grades 10 through 12 to be a part of a 60 voice chorus representing 19 schools from across the state. Dr. Andrea Ramsey, an international composer and director, was the conductor of the choir. Participants were: Gabriel Jones (10), Victoria Searles (12), Amber Schmidt (10), Gabriella Lopez (12), and Lydeah Kearse (12).